Skip to content
Thirstier News September 16, 2026
Home
Thirstier News
  • ABC Live
  • Al Jazeera
  • CBS Live
  • Contact
  • France 24
  • Live News
  • NBC Live
Popular Tags
  • YouTube
  • U.S. News
  • World News
  • MS NOW
  • PBS NewsHour
  • Al Jazeera English
  • DW News
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

R&D Spending at Federally Funded R&D Centers Holds Steady in FY 2025

Published August 21, 2026 · 9 min read
· By Thirstier News

R&D Spending at Federally Funded R&D Centers Holds Steady in FY 2025

Federally funded research and development centers (FFRDCs) in the United States enable federal agencies to meet their research and development (R&D) needs through government-owned, contractor-operated research centers. These centers provide capabilities that cannot be met as effectively through other resources.​The Master Government List of FFRDCs provides details on sponsoring agencies, administrator types, and locations and contains general and historical notes. See also Congressional Research Service. 2021. Federally Funded Research and Development Centers (FFRDCs): Background and Issues for Congress. Available at https://www.congress.gov/crs-product/R44629. Accessed 27 June 2025. And see Cunningham JA and Link AN. 2022. The Returns to Publicly Funded R&D: A Study of U.S. Federally Funded Research and Development Centers. Annals of Science and Technology Policy: 6(3):228–314. Available at http://dx.doi.org/10.1561/110.00000023. The nation’s 41 FFRDCs spent $31.8 billion on R&D in FY 2025, an increase of 0.34% over FY 2024 in current dollars (table 1). (All amounts and calculations are reported in current dollars unless otherwise noted. All growth rates are compound annual growth rates.) The federal government funded $31.3 billion of the R&D total, an increase of 0.27% over FY 2024. This is the smallest nominal growth in FFRDC R&D expenditures since 2014.​For annual R&D expenditures by source of funds, FY 2001–25, see the full set of data tables: table 1. In constant dollars, total FFRDC R&D expenditures rose an average of 2.7% annually from FY 2015 to FY 2025, although the annual rate of increase measured just 1.5% from FY 2023 to FY 2025 (figure 1). These and the other statistics in this report come from the FY 2025 FFRDC Research and Development Survey, conducted by the National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics within the U.S. National Science Foundation.

Table ​1. R&D expenditures at federally funded research and development centers, by source of funds: FYs 2015–25

Data

  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link
  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link

(Thousands of current dollars)

Source(s):

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, FFRDC Research and Development Survey.

Figure ​1. Total R&D expenditures at federally funded research and development centers: FYs 2015–25

  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Download PNG

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link
  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Download PNG

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link

(Millions of dollars)

Fiscal year Constant 2017 dollars Current dollars
2015 18,966 18,458
2016 19,564 19,220
2017 20,038 20,038
2018 20,698 21,172
2019 21,868 22,738
2020 22,314 23,514
2021 22,616 24,921
2022 22,036 26,007
2023 23,954 29,317
2024 25,293 31,725
2025 24,681 31,833

Note(s):

In FY 2024, Idaho National Laboratory (INL) revised reporting methodology to align with reporting practices of other Department of Energy laboratories. INL now categorizes all work as R&D, except for manufacturing and for security and protection projects. This revision contributed to a $963.9 million increase in reported R&D at the laboratory between FY 2023 and FY 2024.

Source(s):

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, FFRDC Research and Development Survey.

R&D by Funding Source

Federal funding sources accounted for 98.4% ($31.3 billion) of FFRDC R&D expenditures in FY 2025 (table 1). This level of support is typical for FFRDCs, which are privately operated R&D organizations that are exclusively or substantially financed by the federal government. Nonfederal sources funded the remaining R&D, which totaled $501.0 million: businesses ($256.7 million), nonprofit organizations ($44.0 million), state and local governments ($41.8 million), and all other sources ($158.5 million), such as funds from foreign governments and foreign or U.S. universities.

Federal Agency Sources of R&D Funding

Four agencies accounted for 92.8% of federally funded R&D expenditures at FFRDCs, which is typical: the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) (figure 2). DOE accounted for $18.2 billion of federally funded R&D spending (58.0%); DOD, $7.1 billion (22.6%); NASA, $2.6 billion (8.4%); and HHS, which includes the National Institutes of Health, $1.2 billion (3.7%). These four agencies were the only agencies with funding expenditures greater than $1 billion in FY 2025. FFRDCs identified 22 other agencies as sources of federal funding in FY 2025 (table 2).

Figure ​2. Federally financed R&D expenditures at federally funded research and development centers, by federal agency: FYs 2021–25

  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Download PNG

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link
  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Download PNG

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link

(Millions of dollars)

Federal agency 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
DOD 5,460 5,408 5,976 6,608 7,096
DOE 12,984 14,123 16,380 17,894 18,172
HHS 1,301 1,285 1,318 1,247 1,172
DHS 539 612 619 732 569
DOT 250 210 214 214 227
NASA 2,630 2,649 2,921 3,003 2,632
NSF 316 345 382 407 446
Other 1,030 973 1,068 1,140 1,018

DOD = Department of Defense; DOE = Department of Energy; DHS = Department of Homeland Security; DOT = Department of Transportation; HHS = Department of Health and Human Services; NASA = National Aeronautics and Space Administration; NSF = National Science Foundation.

Source(s):

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, FFRDC Research and Development Survey.

Table ​2. Federally financed R&D expenditures at federally funded research and development centers, by federal agency: FY 2025

Data

  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link
  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link

(Thousands of current dollars)

a Some funding sources were not identified for security reasons or because the original source was not known.

Source(s):

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, FFRDC Research and Development Survey, FY 2025.

R&D expenditures from the two largest funding agencies nominally grew from FY 2024 to FY 2025—DOE increased by $278 million (1.6%) and DOD increased by $488 million (7.4%). The increase in DOE-funded expenditures during this period was significantly below the annual growth rate of 11.3% for DOE from FY 2021 to FY 2024. R&D expenditures funded by HHS, DHS, and NASA all declined in FY 2025. HHS-funded expenditures decreased by $75 million (6.0%), DHS funded expenditures decreased by $163 million (22.3%), and NASA funded expenditures decreased by $371 million (12.4%). Although DOD and DOE funded more than $1 billion in expenditures at several FFRDCs, the majority of HHS- or NASA-funded expenditures were at two FFRDCs (table 3):

  • Jet Propulsion Laboratory accounted for 86.7% ($2.3 billion) of NASA-funded expenditures at FFRDCs ($2.6 billion).
  • Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research accounted for 73.8% ($865.1 million) of HHS-funded FFRDC expenditures ($1.2 billion).
Table ​3. Federally financed R&D expenditures at federally funded research and development centers, by federal agency and FFRDC: FY 2025

Data

  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link
  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link

(Thousands of current dollars)

NA = not available; imputed data not reported at this level.

DOD = Department of Defense; DOE = Department of Energy; DHS = Department of Homeland Security; DOT = Department of Transportation; FFRDC = federally funded research and development center; HHS = Department of Health and Human Services; NASA = National Aeronautics and Space Administration; NSF = National Science Foundation.  

Source(s):

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, FFRDC Research and Development Survey, FY 2025.

Expenditure Trends at Specific FFRDCs

The majority of FFRDCs (27 centers) increased R&D spending in FY 2025 compared with FY 2024; 14 FFRDCs reported lower R&D totals in FY 2025 (table 4). Twelve FFRDCs had expenditures of more than $1 billion each (a combined $25.5 billion) in R&D expenditures for FY 2025: the NASA-sponsored Jet Propulsion Laboratory; eight DOE-sponsored national laboratories specializing in energy and the environment, national security, and nuclear science (Argonne, Idaho, Lawrence Berkeley, Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos, Oak Ridge, Pacific Northwest, and Sandia National Laboratories); and three FFRDCs sponsored by DOD (National Security Engineering Center, Lincoln Laboratory, and Aerospace FFRDC).​For FFRDC sponsoring agencies and locations, see the full set of data tables: table 6. Sandia National Laboratories and Los Alamos National Laboratory were the two largest performers with $4.7 billion and $4.1 billion in total R&D, respectively. Between FY 2024 and FY 2025, four FFRDCs increased their R&D expenditures by more than $100 million: Oak Ridge National Laboratory ($173.4 million), Argonne National Laboratory ($142.3 million), Lincoln Laboratory ($127.1 million), and Los Alamos National Laboratory ($118.7 million). Jet Propulsion Laboratory reported a significant decrease in FY 2025 R&D expenditures ($366.3 million).

Table ​4. R&D expenditures at federally funded research and development centers, by FFRDC: FYs 2021–25

Data

  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link
  • Download Excel

  • Download PDF

  • Share on X/Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Send as Email
  • Copy Link

(Thousands of current dollars and percent change)

na = not applicable. NA = not available; imputed data not reported at this level.

FFRDC = federally funded research and development center.

a Green Bank Observatory split from the National Radio Astronomy Observatory into separate FFRDCs on 1 October 2016; however, its expenditures continued to be reported under the National Radio Astronomy Observatory for FYs 2017–20. On 1 October 2024, Green Bank Observatory was reincorporated into the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and is no longer a separate FFRDC.
b In FY 2024, Idaho National Laboratory (INL) revised reporting methodology to align with reporting practices of other Department of Energy laboratories. INL now categorizes all work as R&D, except for manufacturing and security or protection projects.
c The Judiciary Modernization Engineering Center was decertified as an FFRDC on 31 January 2021.

Source(s):

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, FFRDC Research and Development Survey.

Data Sources, Limitations, and Availability

The statistics on FFRDC R&D expenditures presented in this report come from the FY 2025 FFRDC Research and Development Survey. This annual survey is completed by FFRDC administrators and collects data from FFRDCs on R&D expenditures by source of funds (federal government, state and local governments, businesses, nonprofit organizations, or other); federal agency source; type of R&D (basic research, applied research, or experimental development); type of cost (salaries, software, equipment, subcontracts, other direct costs, and indirect costs); R&D personnel headcounts and full-time equivalents; and total operating budget. This survey has been a census of the full population of FFRDCs since FY 2001. For a list of criteria used to define the set of FFRDCs, see the general guidelines of the Master Government List of FFRDCs at https://ncses.nsf.gov/resource/master-gov-lists-ffrdc/general-notes.

The full set of data tables from this survey and more information on the survey methodology are available at https://ncses.nsf.gov/surveys/ffrdc-research-development/2025.

NCSES has reviewed this product for unauthorized disclosure of confidential information and approved its release (NCSES-DRN26-024).

Notes

1
The Master Government List of FFRDCs provides details on sponsoring agencies, administrator types, and locations and contains general and historical notes. See also Congressional Research Service. 2021. Federally Funded Research and Development Centers (FFRDCs): Background and Issues for Congress. Available at https://www.congress.gov/crs-product/R44629. Accessed 27 June 2025. And see Cunningham JA and Link AN. 2022. The Returns to Publicly Funded R&D: A Study of U.S. Federally Funded Research and Development Centers. Annals of Science and Technology Policy: 6(3):228–314. Available at http://dx.doi.org/10.1561/110.00000023.

2
For annual R&D expenditures by source of funds, FY 2001–25, see the full set of data tables: table 1.

3
For FFRDC sponsoring agencies and locations, see the full set of data tables: table 6.

Suggested Citation

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES). 2026. R&D Spending at Federally Funded R&D Centers Holds Steady in FY 2025. NSF 26-322. Alexandria, VA: U.S. National Science Foundation. Available at https://ncses.nsf.gov/pubs/nsf26322.

Contact Us

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences
U.S. National Science Foundation
Tel: (703) 292-8780
FIRS: (800) 877-8339
TDD: (800) 281-8749
E-mail: ncsesweb@nsf.gov


Source: RSS Feed

Source: RSS Feed. Review credited third-party material before publication.

Filed under: Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Post navigation

Previous: FFRDC Research and Development Survey2025
Next: Watchdog data shows higher WA child welfare deaths than previously reported

More from Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Senior IPA Advisor

Published September 15, 2026 · 5 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF launches $20M pilot to accelerate commercialization of promising deep technologies from small businesses

Published September 14, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Deputy Directorate Head for Technology, Innovation and Partnerships

Published September 11, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF leadership in a new golden age of science

Published September 10, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Technical Writer Editor, GS-1083-11/12/13 NF

Published September 9, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Program Evaluator, GS-0101-14 NF

Published September 1, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF launches three new Science and Technology Centers with $90M investment in transformative research

Published August 26, 2026 · 4 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF 26-526: NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)

Published August 25, 2026 · 37 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Attorney Advisor (Assistant General Counsel – Procurement Law)

Published August 21, 2026 · 16 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

FFRDC Research and Development Survey2025

Published August 21, 2026 · 19 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Acting Office Head, OISE

Published August 20, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Procurement Analyst, GS-1102-14 (Direct Hire)

Published August 19, 2026 · 25 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Condensed Matter and Materials Theory (CMMT)

Published August 19, 2026 · 3 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF BIO Virtual Office Hour Webinar: Updates from the NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences

Published August 18, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Microbusinesses Performed $5.9 Billion of R&D in the United States in 2023

Published August 17, 2026 · 13 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Annual Business Survey (ABS)2024

Published August 17, 2026 · 30 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF announces $1.5B for foundational research to drive scientific breakthroughs for American technological leadership

Published August 17, 2026 · 4 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

MPS Chemistry Quarterly Office Hours

Published August 16, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Bioinnovation and Infrastructure (BI)

Published August 14, 2026 · 1 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF 26-525: Expeditions in Computing (Expeditions)

Published August 13, 2026 · 29 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Support Services Supervisor, GS-0342-15 (Temporary Promotion/Detail Only)

Published August 12, 2026 · 19 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Survey of Federal Science and Engineering Support to Universities, Colleges, and Nonprofit Institutions2024

Published August 9, 2026 · 43 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

In FY 2024, Federal Science and Engineering Support for Higher Education Declined 4.3% from FY 2023; Federal Obligations to Nonprofits Totaled $11 Billion

Published August 9, 2026 · 15 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

New NSF State and Regional AI Infrastructure Hubs will power AI-enabled scientific research across the country

Published August 4, 2026 · 4 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Advanced Physics Instrumentation (API)

Published August 3, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Gravitational Physics (GP)

Published August 3, 2026 · 1 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Transport Phenomena

Published August 3, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Engineering Biological and Biomedical Systems

Published August 3, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Chemical Process Systems

Published August 3, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Energy, Water, and Resource Engineering

Published August 3, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF 26-512: Unlocking Dataset Value for AI-Enabled Scientific Discovery (AI Datasets)

Published August 3, 2026 · 17 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF 26-511: Small Business Innovation Research / Small Business Technology Transfer Phase I, Phase II, Fast-Track Programs : A Pilot Emphasis on Scientific Instrumentation.

Published August 3, 2026 · 18 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF 26-510: Small Business Innovation Research / Small Business Technology Transfer Phase I, Phase II, Fast-Track Programs SBIR/STTR: Developing Deep Technologies that Advance U.S. Competitiveness and Security

Published August 3, 2026 · 17 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Focused Research Hubs in Theoretical Physics (FRHTP)

Published August 3, 2026 · 2 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF BIO Virtual Office Hour: Updates from the NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences

Published August 3, 2026 · 1 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

NSF 26-513: U.S. National Science Foundation State and Regional Artificial Intelligence Infrastructure Hubs:

Published July 31, 2026 · 21 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Intergovernmental Personnel Act (IPA) Assignment Opportunities at the U.S. National Science Foundation, Directorate for Biological Sciences (NSF BIO)

Published July 7, 2026 · 5 min read
Science — U.S. National Science Foundation

Intergovernmental Personnel Act (IPA) Assignment Opportunities at the U.S. National Science Foundation, Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences (NSF MPS)

Published June 15, 2026 · 4 min read

Search

Recent Posts
  • Gasoline and diesel prices soar in Germany | DW News
  • NASA Ames Stars of the Month: September 2026
  • Merz pledges fast fuel price relief for Germans | DW News
  • More ‘BAD S**T WILL HAPPEN’ if we don’t act: Naomi Klein & Astra Taylor EXPOSE ‘End Times Fascism’
  • ‘I have questions…’: Nicolle reacts to Kash Patel’s WEIRD defense of creepy new policy
  • CO Dem running for Congress: ‘They are ripping apart the American dream’
  • ‘The FBI would be investigating!’: Fmr. CIA officer exposes SEVERITY of Jared Kushner’s meddling
  • Booker FLAMES Kash Patel: ‘You are a MOCKERY!’
  • Senators HAMMER Kash Patel on FBI departures, Epstein probes, leadership | MS NOW Highlights
  • ‘NOT the people I interviewed’: Trump DEJECTED after conservative Supreme Court rules against him
Categories
  • Florida (110)
    • Jacksonville (20)
    • Miami (62)
    • Orlando (17)
    • Tampa (11)
  • Health (1)
  • New York (69)
    • New York City (69)
  • Science (65)
    • Health & Medical Research (10)
    • U.S. Geological Survey (16)
    • U.S. National Science Foundation (39)
  • Science & Space (206)
    • NASA — Centers & Facilities (57)
    • NASA — JPL & Near-Earth Objects (4)
    • NASA — News, Missions & Technology (114)
    • NASA — Photos & Visual Records (31)
  • Trump (477)
  • U.S. Civil Service (160)
    • Cabinet — Department of Agriculture (8)
    • Independent Agencies — Commodity Futures Trading Commission (17)
    • Independent Agencies — Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (10)
    • Independent Agencies — Consumer Product Safety Commission (22)
    • Independent Agencies — Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (32)
    • Independent Agencies — Federal Reserve Board (1)
    • Independent Agencies — Federal Trade Commission (26)
    • Independent Agencies — National Labor Relations Board (20)
    • Independent Agencies — Securities and Exchange Commission (24)
  • U.S. Government (11)
    • DOJ — National (7)
    • DOJ — U.S. Attorneys (5)
    • GAO — News & Analysis (27)
    • GAO — Reports & Decisions (88)
    • Department of Justice (10)
    • Government Accountability Office (1)
  • U.S. News (994)
  • U.S. Veterans (163)
    • Benefits (23)
    • Disabled Veterans (10)
    • Employment (10)
    • Health & Care (41)
    • News (79)
  • Washington (170)
    • Washington (87)
      • Seattle (57)
      • Spokane (30)
  • World News (800)

Recent Comments

No recent comments.

Archives
  • September 2026 (956)
  • August 2026 (1879)
  • July 2026 (15)
  • June 2026 (7)
  • May 2026 (1)
  • April 2026 (4)
  • March 2026 (1)
  • January 2026 (3)
  • November 2025 (1)
  • August 2025 (1)
  • July 2025 (1)
  • April 2025 (2)

Thirstier News is a service of Thirstier, a DBA of Immix Tachyon Synergy Network LLC.

© 2026 Thirstier. Thirstier Theme is an original theme from Thirstier.